Just Listen

cell-phone

 

I have yet to hear an apple scream when I peel it for a pie.

Admittedly chopped onions do evoke a cry,

But conversations, exclamations, out of communications

With other living beings evade, to great extents, intelligence

In all its subtle elements that totally defy

Selections of connections that simply pass me by.

 

I’ve squeaked at mice, chirped at birds, buzzed at a passing fly.

I mew at cats, woof at dogs, but never wailed at whales.

Cats just stare, flies don’t care but dogs can wag their tails.

I say hello to people and sometimes get a grin

But in Helsinki where I live “terve”’s the word that’s in.

The crows are those that watch me when I caw.

Though a peanut’s quality’s the thing that really makes them thaw.

 

Insects, inside, may decide my gestures render greeting

And cozy up to take a nip to assume I invite eating.

So, I’d advise it would be wise to caution to discriminate

And keep an eye at mealtime which friends worth to eliminate.

But many bugs are not thugs, merely enigmatic,

No lips to smile, nor eyebrows for guile, and eyes completely static.

They chirp, they hum, they wiggle some, but never laugh or sneeze.

So, friendship can be fragile to put one at one’s ease.

And conversation topics are difficult to find.

Gossip with grasshoppers can drive one off one’s mind.

 

There are items on the net that are hard to deny.

Even plants communicate – at any rate, supply

Messages of danger, indications, perhaps kinder

Than the normal words of warning, more reminder

That plants require community just like you and me

And appreciate the visit of a butterfly or bee.

I strongly doubt philosophy could bring their cataclysm

Nor that they fiddle much about with logic or syllogism

But, nevertheless, greenleavish contemplation

Seems possible, or probable within most vegetation.

So, it seems, the entire world gossips with information.

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Just Listen

Leave a Reply

