In Gratitude

Illustration

 

When I am made young again

To endow the world with glow

Of golden morning sun

So a normal day will go

With all the joy of baskets of ripe oranges,

When sound will crash through moments

Like clean fresh water splashing

Over mountain rocks that clack

And tumble into chasms to a cataract,

Then shall I know time has been reborn,

Mind will yawn and shake itself awake.

Then will sharp eyes snare the small industry of ants

Who bear breadcrumbs in triumph

To succor busy fellows in necessary labor.

Each small bird will be marked in eagerness

And hopeful gaze for offering as I walk by.

The multitudes of leaves will strike silent lightnings

Of jagged blue sky as loving winds ruffle their green.

And I will know the goodness and the wealth

Of this, my Earth, who made me.

 

4 thoughts on “In Gratitude

  1. Jan this poem of yours is like a prayer. You came into this world through love. Hopefully you will find your source one day.

    Like

  2. I haven’t told you yet that I love birches the most. This might be because they are the typical messenger of spring.

    Like

Leave a Reply

